ABOUT STONE CREEK INN
The History of the Building
The Stone Creek Inn was formerly known as the Ambassador Inn. It was constructed in 1910 as a large two-story house; the third story was added later. During Prohibition it was a speakeasy with a small cottage in the back used to store liquor brought in by boat from Shinnecock Bay to Weesuck Creek, and then up the creek to the cottage. After Prohibition ended the house stood empty for many years until 1938 when it was converted to a restaurant.
The Story of Christian and Elaine
Christian Mir began his career as chef de partie at a classic French restaurant, Le Chapon Fin, (Montauban, France). Three years later, Mir moved on to Eau De Folles (Toulouse, France), where he also worked as chef departie. France held on to Mir for four more years. During this time, chef Mir saw his responsibilities increase when he became the executive sous chef at La Mavee Verte in Toulouse, he soon found himself upping the ante when he became the executive chef at Le Catellas in Collias where he received a notation of 14 from Gault Millau. His next executive chef position was at Le Bellevue, a seafood brasserie in La Croix Falarde. From Le Bellevue he left for the States and Manhattan’s hot restaurant scene.
In 1991, New York City’s highly touted restaurant operation, Tavern on the Green, welcomed Mir as the executive sous chef under executive chef Marc Poidevin. Mir spent four years at the 700 seat landmark restaurant where he specialized in preparing American cuisine. After more than three years at Tavern on the Green, Mir decided to explore New York City’s other culinary opportunities landing at Café Centro, a Restaurant Associates property, where he held the sous chef position. ayear later found Mir at another Restaurant Associates operation, this time as chef de cuisine, at the Grand Tier at the Metropolitan Opera.
Mir found the perfect partner with which to share his dream of opening a restaurant while working at the Tavern. Mir came to the aid of fellow cook, Elaine Digiacomo, when she burned her hand on a hot sauté pan her first night there. They’ve been inseparable since. In 1996 Mir and DiGiacomo decided to head to the Hamptons to open their own restaurant. The two were instantly attracted to the historic Ambassador Inn in East Quogue while on a visit to Elaine’s parent’s summer home in Westhampton Beach. They purchased the property and began to make their dreams come true by renaming it Stone Creek Inn. Following extensive renovations, the 160 seat restaurant open in May 1996. The restaurant’s menu is based on a style of cooking known as cuisine du marche (cooking with local produce). In the first year of business, Mir and the Stone Creek Inn received a two star rating from both the New York Times Long Island edition and Newsday. The Stone Creek Inn, has been cited by Joanne Starkey of the New York Times as an “Off The Beaten Path Dining Gem,” . The restaurant has continued to be a local favorite of the Hamptons for 20 years.